Swale Elects new Mayoral team for 2020-21

Swale Borough Council elected its new Mayoral team at it's annual budget meeting on 26th Feb. 

In a break with recent tradition the Council opted not to elected current Deputy Mayor Cllr Roger Clerk to the Mayoralty, instead electing Swale Independent Alliance Councillor Paul Stephen (Woodstock Ward) to be Mayor for the next civic year.


Mayor-elect Cllr Paul Stephen            Deputy Mayor-elect Cllr Ben A Martin

Liberal Democrat Councillor Ben A Martin (Priory Ward) was elected unopposed to be the Deputy Mayor, following nominations speeches by fellow Lib Dem Councillors Ben J Martin (Watling Ward) and Denise Knights (Abbey Ward). 

Deputy Mayor-elect Cllr Ben A Martin said "I’m really excited about this new role. I hope to use my new role to help develop strong links and bonds throughout the borough." 

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.